Frequently Asked Questions | Virginia Department of Education
question-shape

Please see the page titled Licensing Requirements. Address your questions regarding licensure directly to the Virginia Department of Education’s Office of Licensure at 804-692-0157.

To learn more about the Learning Center, download our User Guide or watch the tutorial video below.

To learn more about our Credential Hotspot, download our User Guide or watch the tutorial video below.

CHANGE TO VIRGINA’S CODE: School counselors; staff time

The 2023 General Assembly approved Senate Bill 1043, which incorporates consistent statewide definitions and expectations for licensed professional school counselors for the provision of “direct counseling services” and “program planning and school support.”  This legislation further defines the role of the school counselor that was established through legislation from House Bill 1729 in the 2019 General Assembly, which amended requirements for the allocation of school counselor staff time.

school_counselors

This bill went into effect on July 1, 2023, and could mean a change in how school counselors are being utilized in many school divisions. This may include the reallocation of non-counseling duties such as SOL Testing Administration to other staff.

In an effort to support divisions as they work towards compliance, VDOE’s Office of Student Services has developed a document that provides an overview of the bill and includes the new definitions it prescribes. Additionally, they have a short video that reviews the changes to Code; as well as, some background information regarding what drove this legislative change.

Yes, the 2022 General Assembly passed House Bill 829 which, in part, expanded the types of licenses issued by the Department of Health Professionals that may be eligible for a provisional license with a school counselor endorsement. Please see the Pathways for School Counselor Licensure document for an overview of this process.

The Office of Student Services (OSS) sends out a newsletter to offer resources, updated information from the VDOE, and details about upcoming events. To subscribe to the OSS newsletter, please complete this form.

Please review the map or table below to see the contact information of Human Resources representatives who may post open positions.
Instructions:

  • Map: Click on the school division name to view the contact information for the individual(s) who have access to post open positions on the CLC Open Positions page.
  • Table: Click on the region to view the school divisions in that of the region and the contact information for the individual(s) who have access to post open positions on the CLC Open Positions page.

Would your school division like to have access to post on the Open Positions page? We’d love to include your open positions! Contact Kristinne Stone, Office of Student Services at the Virginia Department of Education to request access at kristinne.stone@doe.virginia.gov

Please see the Virginia Department of Education website titled Medicaid and Schools to view more information and resources.

question-shape

Name of your school division: Name of HR Contact Email Address Phone Number
Chesterfield County Public Schools Christy Schott christy_schott@ccpsnet.net 804-706-7662
Colonial Heights Public Schools Cayce Kump cayce_kump@colonialhts.net 804-524-3400 x4618
Goochland County Public Schools Demetra Harris dharris@glnd.k12.va.us 804-556-5603
Hanover County Public Schools Stacie Johnson sjohnson@hcps.us 804-365-4559
Henrico County Public Schools Seza Aldrich saaldrich@henrico.k12.va.us 804-652-3820
Henrico County Public Schools Andrew Mey apmey@henrico.k12.va.us 804-652-3668
Henrico County Public Schools Dwight VanRossum djvanrossum@henrico.k12.va.us 804-652-3878
New Kent County Public Schools Allison Anderson aanderson@nkcps.k12.va.us 804-966-8526
Petersburg City Public Schools Paige Brown dwbrown1@petersburg.k12.va.us 804-712-3614
Prince George County Public Schools Miko Chan mikochan@pgs.k12.va.us 804-733-2700
Prince George County Public Schools Ida Ostrowski iostrowski@pgs.k12.va.us 757-897-3156
Powhatan County Public Schools Allison Jewell allisonjewell@powhatanschool.org 540-837-1009
Powhatan County Public Schools Jay Briar jaybriar@powhatanschool.org 540-837-1009
The Steward School Kelly Lester kelly.lester@stewardschool.org 804-565-2330
Name of your school division: Name of HR Contact Email Address Phone Number
Hampton City Schools Kacy Futrell kfutrell@hampton.k12.va.us 757-727-2319
Hampton City Schools Susanne Marcella smarcella@hampton.k12.va.us 757-727-2316
Newport News Public Schools Amanda Wilkins amanda.wilkins@nn.k12.va.us 757-881-5061
Newport News Public Schools Catherine Westphal Catherine.Westphal@nn.k12.va.us 757-881-5061
Norfolk Public Schools Bruce Brady bwbrady@nps.k12.va.us 757-628-3481
Norfolk Public Schools Erika Ricks ericks@nps.k12.va.us 757-628-3905
Northampton County Public Schools Melinda Phillips mphillips@ncpsk12.com 757-678-5151 Ext. 2101
Poquoson City Public Schools Evette Marshall evette.marshall@poquoson.k12.va.us 757-868-3055
Poquoson City Public Schools Debbie Bunting debbie.bunting@poquoson.k12.va.us 757-866-3055
Suffolk Public Schools Rodney Brown rodneybrown@spsk12.net 757-925-6750
Suffolk Public Schools Joyce Black joyceblack@spsk12.net 757-925-6750
Williamsburg-James City County Public Schools Robin Rubenstein Robin.Rubenstein@wjccschools.org 757-603-6412
Williamsburg-James City County Public Schools Dawn LeCount Kimberly.Dawn.LeCount@wjccschools.org 757-603-6411
York County School Division Elizabeth Osborne eosborne@ycsd.york.va.us 757-898-0472
York County School Division Melissa Gunn mgunn@ycsd.york.va.us
Portsmouth Public Schools Tierra Walker tierra.walker@portsk12.com
Portsmouth Public Schools Jeanette Akujuobi jeanette.akujuobi@portsk12.com
Name of your school division: Name of HR Contact Email Address Phone Number
Caroline County Public Schools Ashley Montalvo Pacheco asmontalvo@ccps.us 804-633-5088
Caroline County Public Schools Karent Foster kfoster@ccps.us 804-633-5088
Caroline County Public Schools Patricia Taylor Smith ptsmith@ccps.us 804-633-5088
Caroline County Public Schools Rachel Wheeler rwheeler@ccps.us 804-633-9886, EXT 5112
Colonial Beach Public Schools Elizabeth Byrd ebyrd@cbschools.net 804-224-0906, ext. 2004
Colonial Beach Public Schools Dr. Kimbrelle Lewis klewis@cbschools.net 804-224-0906
King and Queen County Public Schools Jennifer Perry jperry@kqps.net 804-785-5981
King George County Schools Michelle Gordon mgordon@kgcs.k12.va.us 540-775-5833
King George County Schools Yezierski Yezierski eyezierski@kgcs.k12.va.us 540-775-5833
Mathews County Public Schools Lesley Hunley lhunley@mathews.k12.va.us 804-725-3909
Middlesex County Public Schools Jessica Dixon/Chewning jdixon@mcps.k12.va.us 804-758-2277
Northumberland County Public Schools Adam Letizia aletizia@nucps.net 8045296134 x2005
Spotsylvania County Public Schools Amy Williams ajwilliams@spotsylvania.k12.va.us 540-834-2500
Spotsylvania County Public Schools Joshua Hurley jhurley@spotsylvania.k12.va.us 540-834-2500
Stafford County Public Schools Theresa Aberg taberg@staffordschools.net 540-658-6560
Stafford County Public Schools Latoya Mason masonlm@staffordschools.net 540-659-6711
Westmoreland County Public Schools Cathy Rice ricecr@wmlcps.org 804-493-8018
Chesapeake Public Schools Veronica Mullen veronica.mullen@cpschools.com 757-547-0238
Chesapeake Public Schools Karen Cooper-Collins karen.cooper-collins@cpschools.com 757-547-0277
Fredericksburg City Public Schools Eileen Pospisil epospisil@cityschools.com 540-372-1127
Fredericksburg City Public Schools Maris Wyatt mwyatt@cityschools.com 540-372-1127
Gloucester County Public Schools Libby Hugate LHUGATE@GC.K12.VA.US 804-693-5300
Gloucester County Public Schools Veronica Antis VERONICA.ANTIS@GC.K12.VA.US 804-693-5300
Name of your school division: Name of HR Contact Email Address Phone Number
Alexandria City Public Schools Sandra Hardeman sandra.hardeman@acps.k12.va.us 703-619-8178
Alexandria City Public Schools Maria Jones maria.jones@acps.k12.va.us 703-619-8010
Arlington Public Schools Careers APS careers@apsva.us 703-228-2464
Fairfax County Public Schools Julie Curran jmcurran@fcps.edu 571-423-3161
Fauquier County Public Schools Alix Tate alixandra.tate@fcps1.org 540-422-7348
Fauquier County Public Schools Eric McCaslin emccaslin@fcps1.org 540-422-7378
Frederick County Public Schools Nicole Donelan donelann@fcpsk12.net 540-662-3889 x88228
Frederick County Public Schools Kristen Campbell campbekr@fcpsk12.net 540-662-3889 x88227
Loudoun County Public Schools Karyn O'Neill Karyn.oneill@lcps.org 571-252-1383
Loudoun County Public Schools Jonathan Mandina Jonathan.Mandina@lcps.org
Orange County Public Schools Jennifer Bryner jbryner@ocss-va.org 540-661-4550
Prince William County Schools Toi Tanton tantontl@pwcs.edu 703-791-8520
Prince William County Schools Cheri Bradford bradfocs@pwcs.edu 703-790-8050
Rappahannock County Public Schools Michelle Berta mberta@rappahannockschools.us 540-227-0023
Rappahannock County Public Schools Carol Johnson cjohnson@rappahannockschools.us 540-227-0023
Shenandoah County Public Schools Linda Hodges lchodges@shenandoah.k12.va.us 540-459-6761
Shenandoah County Public Schools Aimee Miller aamiller@shenandoah.k12.va.us 540-477-4291
WINCHESTER PUBLIC SCHOOLS Charity Finks finksc@wps.k12.va.us 540-667-4253
WINCHESTER PUBLIC SCHOOLS Sandy Shernick shernick@wps.k12.va.us 540-667-4253
Manassas Park City Schools Debbie Strayhorn debbie.strayhorn@mpark.net 703-335-8853
Manassas Park City Schools Rebekah Wills rebekah.wills@mpark.net 703-335-8850
Name of your school division: Name of HR Contact Email Address Phone Number
Amherst County Public Schools Brittany McNerney bmcnerney@amherst.k12.va.us 434-946-9376
Amherst County Public Schools James Gallagher jgallagher@amherst.k12.va.us 434-946-9376
Amherst County Public Schools Madison Massie mmassie@amherst.k12.va.us 434-946-9376
Amherst County Public Schools Jim Gallagher jgallagher@amherst.k12.va.us 434-946-9376
Augusta County Public Schools Miranda Ball mball@augusta.k12.va.us 540-245-5107
Augusta County Public Schools Sandra Thorpe thorpe.sl@augusta.k12.va.us (540) 245-5131
Augusta County Public Schools Kelly Troxell Troxell troxell.kf@augusta.k12.va.us (540) 245-5107
Fluvanna County Public Schools Amy Haislip-Shelley ahaislip-shelley@apps.fluco.org 434-589-8208
Fluvanna County Public Schools Don Stribling dstribling@apps.fluco.org 434-589-8208
Louisa County Public Schools Susan Chaney chaneysr@lcps.k12.va.us 540-894-5115
Louisa County Public Schools Melisa Campbell campbemm@lcps.k12.va.us 540-894-5115
Rockingham County Public Schools Camala Kite ckite@rockingham.k12.va.us 540-564-3220
Rockingham County Public Schools Katie LaPira klapira@rockingham.k12.va.us 540-564-3207
Rockingham County Public Schools Michele Judd 540-564-3220
Staunton City Schools Jonathan Venn jvenn@staunton.k12.va.us 540-332-3914
Greene County Public Schools Bridget Keys bkeys@greenecountyschools.com
Harrisonburg City Public Schools Jeron Baker jsbaker@harrisonburg.k12.va.us 540-434-9916
Harrisonburg City Public Schools Lauren Friend lfriend@harrisonburg.k12.va.us 540-434-9916
Name of your school division: Name of HR Contact Email Address Phone Number
Franklin County Public Schools Sherry Lynch sherry.lynch@frco.k12.va.us 540-483-0280
Henry County Public Schools Amanda Stone astone@henry.k12.va.us 276-634-4775
Henry County Public Schools Wendy Philpott wendy.philpott@henry.k12.va.us 276-634-4707
Patrick County Public School Amanda Holt amanda.holt@patrick.k12.va.us 276-694-3163
Pittsylvania County Schools Katie Hawker katie.hawker@pcs.k12.va.us 434-432-2761
Pittsylvania County Schools Steven Mayhew steven.mayhew@pcs.k12.va.us 434-432-2761
Pittsylvania County Schools Parker lisa.parker@pcs.k12.va.us 434-432-2761
Roanoke County Public Schools Randy Queen rqueen@rcps.us 540-562-3700
Roanoke County Public Schools Sharon Sheppard ssheppard@rcps.us 540-562-3700
Roanoke City Public Schools Josh Poindexter jpoindexter@rcps.info 540-853-2858
Roanoke City Public Schools Angela Wimberly awimberly@rcps.info 540-853-2276
Roanoke City Public Schools Hayley Poland hpoland@rcps.info 540-853-1306
Salem City Schools Kirstine Barber kbarber@salem.k12.va.us 540-389-0130
Salem City Schools Randy Jennings rjennings@salem.k12.va.us 540-389-0130
Montgomery County Public Schools Susan Compton susancompton@mcps.org 540-382-5100
Montgomery County Public Schools Amanda Weidner aweidner@mcps.org 540-382-5100
Martinsville City Public Schools Yani Smith yani.smith@martinsville.k12.va.us 276-403-5827
Martinsville City Public Schools Sara Kasey skasey@martinsville.k12.va.us 276-403-5707
Botetourt County Public Schools Tim McClung tmcclung@bcps.k12.va.us 540-473-8263
Botetourt County Public Schools Cathy Quinn cquinn@bcps.k12.va.us 540-473-8263
Name of your school division: Name of HR Contact Email Address Phone Number
Bristol Virginia Public Schools Angel Hudson ahudson@bvps.org 276-821-5610
Carroll County Public Schools Marc Quesenberry mgquesen@ccpsd.k12.va.us 276-730-3204
Lee County Public Schools Lisa Willis lisa.willis@lee.k12.va.us 276-346-2107 ext. 1039
Lee County Public Schools Kelli Mooney kelli.mooney@lee.k12.va.us 276-346-2107 ext. 1042
Washington County Public Schools Ted Casler tedc@wcs.k12.va.us 276-739-3038
Name of your school division: Name of HR Contact Email Address Phone Number
Amelia County Public Schools Heather Gentry gentryh@ameliaschools.com 804-561-2621
Buckingham County Public Schools Patti Branch pbranch@bcpschools.org 143-496-96100
Buckingham County Public Schools Jasmine Rosales jrosales@bcpschools.org 143-496-96100
Charlotte County Public Schools Shep Critzer critzerss@ccps.k12.va.us 434-542-9503
Charlotte County Public Schools Dana Ramsey ramseydl@ccps.k12.va.us 434-542-5151
Cumberland County Public Schools Liz Jamerson ejamerson@cucps.k12.va.us 804-492-4212
Cumberland County Public Schools Catina Settle csettle@cucps.k12.va.us 804-492-4212
Greensville County Public School Karen Riddick kriddick@gcps1.com 434-623-8078
Greensville County Public School Quatasia Deshay qdeshay@gcps1.com 434-634-3748
Mecklenburg County Public Schools Sherry Sheppard ssheppard@mcpsweb.org 434-738-6111 x. 21003
Nottoway County Public Schools RJ Greger greger.rj@nottowayschools.org 434-645-9596
Nottoway County Public Schools Chandra Lewis lewis.chandra@nottowayschools.org 434-645-9596
mailbox
Newsletter Sign Up

Let’s stay in touch! Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter for updates and information.

Subscribe